Nederburg succumbs to London showers

Monday, 16 September, 2013
Nederburg has been showered in medals awarded by the 2013 International Wine & Spirit (IWSC) Competition, winning three gold outstanding, five gold and 10 silver outstanding medals, as well as 15 silvers for wines across its multi-tiered range.
The results were announced at The Beautiful South, an inaugural wine show in London, featuring wines from South Africa, Argentina and Chile.

All IWSC entries are tasted blind. To earn gold, a wine must achieve a score of at least 90, while gold outstanding medals are conferred by the judges for exceptional gold winners.
Nederburg's gold outstanding medals went to two wines sold exclusively on the Nederburg Auction: the 2007 Private Bin Edelkeur and the 2008 Private Bin R163 Cabernet Sauvignon, as well as the Solera Potstilled Brandy, sold by select stockists countrywide.

Amongst the gold winners were both the 2011 and 2012 Winemaster's Reserve Noble Late Harvest. The 2012 vintage of this wine was the only South African trophy winner at this year’s International Sweet Wine Challenge, held in Riverina, Australia earlier this month (September). The 2011 and earlier vintages of this wine have been consistently ranked five stars in the Platter's South African Wine Guide.

All other IWSC golds went to wines reserved for auction.

Silver outstanding IWSC medals go to wines narrowly missing gold.  These were equally divided this year amongst Nederburg's auction and other wines available on the open market. These include the 2010 vintage of The Motorcycle Marvel from the gourmet Heritage Heroes range; the 2011 Ingenuity White that is also a five-star Platter wine; as well as three wines from the popular Winemaster's Reserve range: the 2011 Cabernet Sauvignon and the 2012 vintages of the Riesling and Special Late Harvest.

Apart from auction wines, silvers went to a selection of Winemaster's Reserve and Heritage Heroes wines, as well as the 2010 Ingenuity Red.

At the end of last year, Nederburg was named the 2012 IWSC SA Wine Producer of the Year.