Highly esteemed judging panel chosen for 2013 Diners Club Winelist Awards

Tuesday, 28 May, 2013
Diners Club
Diners Club is proud to announce that Benny Masekwameng, Masterchef South Africa judge, and Executive Chef of the Monde Vino restaurant, will be one of seven judges lending their expertise as part of the esteemed 2013 Diners Club Winelist Awards judging panel.
“Diners Club is very excited to have Benny as part of the judging panel for this year’s Winelist Awards, we look forward to seeing the fresh approach he will bring.” commented Diners Club MD Ebrahim Matthews.

Joining him on the panel will be the author of independent restaurant guide – Rossouw’s Restaurants, JP Rossouw; leading wine critics, Christine Rudman and Fiona McDonald; co-owner of Winestyle.biz, Nikki Dumas and the head of the Cape Wine Academy, Marilyn Cooper; all chaired by well-known wine author and respected industry expert Dave Hughes.

Chairman Dave Hughes commented, “This year’s judging panel has some of South Africa’s top food and wine connoisseurs, I’m positive the calibre and their expertise will elevate the Winelist awards to an exceptional level.”

Restaurants, hotels and guest houses countrywide are invited to start submitting their wine lists. These will be judged on the basis of the wine selection (35%), how well balanced the selection is (30%), the presentation of the wine list (25%) and the suitability in terms of cuisine offered (10%).

Details and entry forms can be found at www.dinersclub.co.za. Entries close on Tuesday 4th June 2013 at 16h00 and can be delivered to the following Diners Club offices:
Cape Town: Alphen Park, Constantia Main Road, Constantia. 7806
Gauteng: ACA Krans Building, 35 Symons Road, 2092 Auckland Park, Johannesburg.
Durban: Ground Floor, 8 Nollsworth Crescent, Nollsworth Park, La Lucia Ridge Office Estate. 4052, Durban

Judging will take place in June and winners of the Diamond, Platinum, Gold and Silver awards will be announced alongside the national winners of the Best Winelist and Best Wine Steward at anticipated awards ceremonies to be held in Durban, Cape Town and Gauteng in July.