South Africa's top terroir wines honoured

Thursday, 28 July, 2011
Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards
After a record 251 entries for the sixth annual Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards, five wine cellars stood out with two National Winners each, Doolhof, Durbanville Hills, Hermanuspietersfontein, Jordan and Welbedacht.
For the first time ever the Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Estate was awarded to the wine estate that performed exceptionally well with finalist wines and National Winners. The Top Wine Estate Trophy was awarded to Jordan Wine Estate from the Polkadraai Hills ward in the Stellenbosch District, owned by the husband and wife winemaking team Gary and Kathy Jordan.

Jordan Wine Estate entered four wines that were chosen for the final round and of which two were National Winners, the Jordan Riesling 2009 and Jordan Nine Yards Chardonnay 2009. Both were of the highest rated wines of all the wines entered for the competition.

The second Novare Trophy for the SA Terroir Top Wine Area was awarded to the Durbanville ward. Besides three National Winners, 16 of the wines chosen for the final round came from the same ward. The main contributors for the Top Wine Area Trophy being awarded to Durbanville, were Durbanville Hills, Klein Roosboom, Meerendal, Nitida, De Grendel, Altydgedacht and De Vallei. Last year’s winner, the Wellington ward, was the closest competitor for the 2011 top wine area.

Only wines certified as a single vineyard wine, an estate produced wine or from a specific ward can participate, hence the term SA Terroir Wine Awards. The 2011 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards National Winners for cultivar wines, red and white blends, rosé, sparkling wine and dessert wine are:

Welbedacht Barrel Fermented Chenin Blanc 2005 and Pinotage 2009 from Wellington; Durbanville Hills Biesjes Craal Sauvignon Blanc 2009 and Merlot Rosé 2011 from Durbanville; Hermanuspietersfontein Die Bartho 2010 (white blend) and Swartskaap 2009 (cabernet franc) from Sunday’s Glen in Walker Bay; Jordan Nine Yards Chardonnay 2009 and Riesling 2009, estate wines from Stellenbosch; Signatures of Doolhof Petit Verdot 2009 and Malbec 2009 from Wellington; David Nieuwoudt Ghost Corner Semillon 2009 from Elim; Beau Constantia Cecily 2010 (viognier) from Constantia; Neethlingshof Gewürztraminer 2011, estate wine from Stellenbosch; Dieu Donné Cross Collection Merlot/Cabernet 2008 from Franschhoek; Klein Roosboom Merlot 2009 from Durbanville; Anura Syrah Limited Release 2007 (shiraz) from Paarl-Simonsberg; Bon Courage Inkara Cabernet Sauvignon 2009, estate wine from Robertson; La Motte Methode Cap Classique Brut 2008 (sparkling wine) from Franschhoek; Bergsig Cape LBV 2001 port, estate wine from the Breedekloof; Nuy White Muscadel 2005 from the Nuy ward in Worcester and Lourensford Winemakers Selection Noble Late Harvest 2009, estate wine from the Helderberg.

“Since this competition was started six years ago, we have received record entries year after year, which truly shows that there will always be a place to praise those wines that are created with grapes from a specific wine growing area. The results each year also shows the diversity of South Africa’s many wine terroirs and the wide variety of quality that is grown and vinified in many different areas. Few countries can compete with us when it comes to producing high quality wines in all styles from all cultivars,” says project leader Marius Labuschagne.

“The 2011 Novare SA Terroir Wine Awards has yet again provided an unparalleled opportunity for Novare to invest in skills development by honouring the wines which truly portray South Africa’s different terroirs and those who labour in love to create them. In line with Novare’s philosophy of continuous innovation and progressive prosperity we have extended our sponsorship of these prestigious awards to not only honour the Top Wine Area but also to award the Top Wine Estate for 2011,” says Johan Henn, CEO of the sponsor Novare.

Most entries were Sauvignon Blanc (35), followed by Shiraz (28), Cabernet Sauvignon (24), Chardonnay (23), Red Blends (23) and Pinotage (22).

The 2011 judges were Altus le Roux, Andrea Freeborough, Dave Hughes, David Biggs, Erika Obermeyer, Guy Webber and Pierre Marais. The technical coordinator is Charl Theron. Results were audited by Novare’s account department. For the full results visit