Nederburg TeamSA Announced

Monday, 2 July, 2018
Jean Vincent Ridon
It took twelve wines from all around the world to decide who will compose Team Nederburg 2018 who will represent South Africa at the World Blind Tasting Challenge in October.

16 finalists from all around the country competed in the finals of the South African Wine Tasting Championships at the Taj Cape Town Hotel on Sunday 1 July 2018 in order to select the best tasters. They had to identify the country, the appellation, the cultivar, the vintage and the producers of the wines.

At this game, Anita Streicher-Nel, Welma Smith, Pieter de Klerk and Anton Swarts won their seat in Nederburg Team South Africa 2018. Anita wins her fourth qualification, Anton his third, while Pieter and Welma participated in their first finals. 
The 5th best competitor, Cyril Meidinger, will be the substitute for Team Nederburg.

Nederburg TeamSA 2018: Anton Swarts, Welma Smith, Anita Streicher Nel, Pieter de Klerk & Cyril Meidinger

The wines served at the finals were:

-          Portugal Alvarinho 2016 Vinho Verde Quinta do Regueiro

-          France Sauvignon Blanc 2012 Sancerre François Cotat

-          Austria Gruner Veltliner 2016 Kamptal Loimer

-          France Chardonnay 2015 Meursault Bourchard père et fils

-          South Africa Semillon 2012 Franschhoek Landau du Val

-          Germany Riesling 2016 Mosel Dr Loosen

-          France Syrah 2015 Saint Joseph Cave de Tain

-          Italy Sangiovese 2011 Brunello di Montalcino Collosorbo

-          South Africa Cabernet-Sauvignon 2014 Western Cape Nederburg

-          USA Zinfandel 2013 Dry Creek Valley Ridge

-          Spain Tempranillo 2007 Rioja Gran Reserva La Rioja Alta

-          Portugal Verdelho 5 years Madeira Blandy's

Nederburg Team will train together to be ready to embark their European trip before the World Blind Tasting Challenge in France in the Lanquedoc on the 13th of October 2018.

To keep up with the team's activities - keep an eye on the SAWTC Spotlight page on - who is proud to have partnered with this competition since inception.

Anton Swarts
Anton Swarts

Anita Streicher Nel
Anita Streicher Nel

Cyril Meidinger
Cyril Meidinger

Pieter de Klerk
Pieter de Klerk

Welma Smith
Welma Smith

more news