Trophies for exceptional wines at the First Vitis Vinifera Awards

Saturday, 5 October, 2013
Bertus van Niekerk
The inaugural Vitis Vinifera Awards competition awarded ten wines trophy status in their respective categories.

From a standing start in June 2013 the Vitis Vinifera Awards picked up a lot of speed and accelerated through the finish line in the first week of October. The idea behind the competition brewed for years and was fine tuned to reflect specific values: passion, distinction and recognition. The goodwill experienced from every sector I engaged quickly showed that this competition will be a benchmark to consider in years to come.

I was very pleased with the spectrum of quality wines entered into this year’s competition. The tasting was held on October 1st, and panels judged wines in separate blind tasting flights.

Congratulations to the following producers, whose wines were awarded trophies in their category:

Chardonnay – Koelfontein 2011

Sauvignon Blanc – De Grendel Koetshuis 2013

Viognier – Leopard Frog

MCC – Packwood Gent 2010

Red Blend – Druk My Niet Invictus 2010

Shiraz – Kevin Arnold 2009

Cabernet Sauvignon – Mooiplaas 2006

Pinotage – Kaapzicht Steytler 2010

Chenin Blanc – Perdeberg 2013

Jerepigo – Nuweland Muscat d’Alexandrie 2009

Details about the 2014 Vitis Vinifera Awards will be announced in the last week of November this year. I look forward to growing relationships with producers of fine wines!