Who will be in Team Nederburg?

Friday, 19 July, 2019
Jean Vincent Ridon - SAWTC
Team Nederburg 2019 will be announced this Sunday at the finals of the South African Wine Tasting Championships to be held at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town.

The team who will represent South Africa at the World Blind Challenge in France on the 12th of October will be selected this week end from the best 15 National Tasters.

The Best Taster will receive the inaugural WINE.CO.ZA Trophy and the eligible top 4 will fly to the world championships with Jean Vincent Ridon as coach.

After earning their qualifications to the finals through the Tops @Spar Wine Shows' Super Taster events, as well as provincial championship, the best national taster will face 12 wines from all around the world on Sunday at the Taj Hotel. For each wine served to them blind, they will have to identify the cultivar for 9 points, the country for 6 points, the appellation for 5 points, the vintage for 3 points and the producer for 2 points. This is the exact same set up Team Nederburg will face at the Word Blind Challenge in France in October.

The four highest scores will be selected to go to Chambord in October, while the new partnership with Concours Mondial de Bruxelles will allow the best SA taster to be invited to Brno (Czech Republic) in May 2020, exposing them to the international tasting and judging scene.

World Champs 2018

Team Nederburg will train with Sommeliers Academy until the world championship to try to dethrone Belgium, who is the current world champion. 28 countries will participate in this 7th edition of the World Blind Challenge. South Africa ranked was 10th in 2018, and this year they are aiming at the podium.

The World Blind Tasting Challenge is organised by Revue du Vin de France, the leading wine magazine published since 1929.

Team Nederburg 2018

Coach Jean Vincent Ridon, Anita Streicher-Nel (Captain), Pieter de Klerk, Welma Smith, Anton Swart & Cyril Meidinger


wine.co.za has been a proud supporter and media partner of #TeamSA and #TeamNederburg since inception.

Keep up with the Championships HERE