Team SA does us proud at the 2015 World Blind Tasting Challenge

Wednesday, 21 October, 2015
Jean-Vincent Ridon
For its third qualification to this global challenge, Team South Africa achieved its best score ever at the international event.

Lead by Ralph Reynolds, sommelier at Karibu, team 2015 is comprised of Veronica Plaatjies from Mosaic Restaurant, Tongai Joseph Dhafana from La Colombe and Anita Streicher-Nel from Morgenhof.

The World Blind Tasting Challenge, organised by Revue du Vin de France, was held in Chateauneuf du Pape on Saturday 17th Oct, challenging 20 national teams to identify 12 wines from 8 different wine producing countries.

With 98 points, Team South Africa secured a 12th position in the world ranking, its best achievement since their first participation to the event. Jean Vincent Ridon, the team coach is impressed by the achievement of Team 2015 considering the limited access to international wines in South Africa. Identifying wines such as the Croatian Malvasia or the Greek Assyrtiko proved to be impossible for our national champions.

The 2015 Team South Africa members felt part of the global wine tribe, creating special friendships with the best wine tasters of the world. They are looking forward participating again to this international to fly our National colours.

Spain was crowned world champion 2015, a great success after having come last in 2013. It gives hope to the South African Team - that with hard work, everything is possible.

The team is proudly sponsored by Spiedel, Restaurant Mosaic,, Air France and Jacquart champagne.
Team South Africa 2015 will hope to qualify again for the next year's World Blind Tasting Challenge that will be held in Burgundy in 2016. 
The South African Wine Tasting Championship will start selecting the candidates for the next magic team during 2016, so get your taste buds ready!

The wines served blind were:

  • Pinot noir France Champagne Bollinger Grande année 2005
  • Sauvignon New Zealand Hawke’s Bay Te Mata 2013
  • Riesling Germany Pfalz Friederich Becker Sonnenberg 2011
  • Malvoisia Croatia Istria Kabola Unica Réserve 2009
  • Assyrtiko Greece Santorin Gaia Assyrtiko Wild Ferment 2014
  • Sangiovese Italy Chianti Classico Felsina Berardenga 2012
  • Mourvedre France Bandol Château Vannières 1998
  • Pinotage South Africa Franschhoek Valley Chamonix 2012
  • Grenache France Châteauneuf-du-Pape 2007
  • Tempranillo Espagne Castilla y Leon Quinta Sandoria 2006
  • Sémillon France Sauternes Château Climens 2008
  • Grenache France Maury Mas Amiel 2006

The results in order are :
Spain (140 points) , Belgium, Sweden, Andorra, France(105 points), Russia, UK, Poland, Portugal, Quebec, Finland, South Africa(98 points), China, Argentina, Luxemburg, Italy, Japan, Monaco, Switzerland, USA.

Tongai, Ralph, Veronica & Mr Sabon(Chateauneuf du Pape), Anita
Tongai, Ralph, Veronica & Mr Sabon(Chateauneuf du Pape), Anita

The Trophy
The Trophy

The Tasting Stations
The Tasting Stations

The A Team at work
The A Team at work

The elusive Trophy
The elusive Trophy

Tongai, Ralph, Veronica & Anita
Tongai, Ralph, Veronica & Anita

more news