New kid on the block takes top honours at Michelangelo 2004

Tuesday, 24 August, 2004
Lorraine Immelman-Steyn & Sue van Wyk
The eighth Michelangelo International Wine Awards which was held on Saturday 21 August 2004 at the Spier Auditorium, Stellenbosch, rewarded 321 wines regarded by the panel of 12 international judges as of exceptional quality and as internationally marketable.

The Manley Private Cellar Shiraz 2003 of this brand new cellar in Tulbagh walked away with the Grand Prix prize as the top wine at this year's competition. Manley Private Cellar's owner and winemaker is David Jordan. With a mere O.66 points separating the winner from the second-placed wine, the organisers decided to award a trophy to the runner-up. This inaugural trophy, which in future will be awarded at the discretion of the organisers, went to Groote Post Sauvignon Blanc 2004. Groote Post is in the Darling area and the winemaker is Lukas Wentzel.

The 2004 Sue van Wyk Pinotage Trophy was awarded to the Boland Kelder Pinotage 2002 (winemaker Naudé Bruwer and cellar master Altus le Roux), whilst this year's Garagiste winner is Anatu Shiraz 2003 (winemaker Anina Guelpa).

The record number of 1 198 wines entered for adjudication by the international panel, delivered a total of only 19 superior wines which were awarded the sought-after Grand D'Or medal: (in alphabetical order)

Anatu Shiraz 2003*, Avondale Shiraz 2002, Babylon's Peak Syrah 2003, Bilton Wines Merlot 2002, Boland Kelder Pinotage 2002, Fairview Viognier 2003, Groote Post Sauvignon Blanc 2004, Hofstraat Shiraz 2003*, Kleine Zalze Shiraz 2003, Knorhoek Chenin Blanc 2003, Manley Private Cellar Shiraz 2003, Nederburg Eminence 2003, Paul Cluver Chardonnay 2002, Porterville Cellars Unfiltered Reserve Shiraz 2002, Raka Quinary 2003, Signal Hill Straw Wine 2001, Spier Private Collection Merlot 2002, Stellekaya Cabernet Sauvignon 2002, Viljoensdrift River Grandeur 2002. * (Garagiste)

In addition to the 19 Grand D'Or winners, Gold medals were awarded to 92 wines, and Silver medals to 210 wines, representing 26% of entries. Boschendal excelled with five Gold and five Silver medals. Viljoensdrift, in addition to their Grand D'Or medal, received two Gold and four Silver medals. Diemersdal Estate was rewarded with three Gold medals.

Chardonnay (105) and Sauvignon Blanc (100) topped the white wine entries, whereas Shiraz (165) and Cabernet Sauvignon (120) led the way in the red wine entries. Interestingly, fortified wines accounted for 81 of the total number of entries.

Shiraz wines most impressed the judges and were awarded a total of 60 medals (seven Grand D'Or, 28 Gold and 25 Silver). Pinotage was also well received with one Grand D'Or, six Gold and 33 Silver medals. Sauvignon Blanc was the most impressive white wine scoring 1 Grand D'Or , 5 Gold and 29 Silver medals. Once again, the competition attracted a number of international entries from France, Chile, Italy, Spain and Australia.

Tastings of award-winning wines:

The award-winning entries will be available for tasting in Johannesburg: Wednesday, 1 September 2004.
Venue: Cape Wine Academy premises (FNB Conference Centre, 114 Grayston Avenue, Sandown).
Time : 18:00 - 21:00.

Cape Town: Friday, 3 September 2004.
Venue: Breakwater Lodge Conference Centre,V&A Waterfront.
Time: 18:00 - 21:00.

For tickets contact: The Cape Wine Academy. Johannesburg Tel: (011) 783 4585/6;
Cape Town Tel: (021) 809 7597/7547 or at the door.

Judging procedure:

Wines entered in the same class were judged together in descending vintage year and as in the past, the 100-point scoring system was used. The leader of each panel was responsible for consensus between the judges on his panel to the result eventually awarded to each wine. Medals were awarded as follows: Grand gold: 96+; Gold: 91+; Silver: 86+.

According to the regulations of the competition a maximum of only 30% of the entries are eligible for medals.


Jesús Bernad (Spain), Jean-Christophe Bourgeois (France), Sally Easton MW (UK), Emiliano Falsini (Italy), Dave Hughes (South Africa), Frank Jacobs (The Netherlands), John Chua Liat Kiang (Singapore), Freddie Grimwood (Canada), Martin Moran MW (Ireland), Jørgen Pedersen (Denmark), Edwin Raben (The Netherlands), *Sue van Wyk CWM (South Africa).

*Panel Chairman and Technical Director

Issued by: Lorraine Immelman-Steyn and Sue van Wyk CWM.
Contact numbers: Cell: 082-5568679; Home: (039) 3149913.