Meet accomplished Wine & Food Tourism Awards 2019 Chairperson, Jean-Pierre Rossouw

Monday, 13 May, 2019
Wine & Food Tourism Conference
A well-known and respected personality in South Africa’s wine and food industry, Jean-Pierre Rossouw is the publisher of Platter’s South African Wine Guide, the country's most authoritative guide on local wines, as well as of Rossouw’s Restaurants, an independently-minded online guide on the South African dining landscape, both by Diners Club.

Jean-Pierre is also the convenor of the Diners Club Winelist of the Year Awards and has been a judge for the Southern African Academy of the San Pellegrino Top 50 Restaurants. He has authored books on wine and is a regular contributor to local and international media titles. 

Jean-Pierre serves as the chairperson of this year’s Wine & Food Tourism Awards, overseeing the judging panel in three categories: Innovation, Service Excellence and The Authentic South African Experience. 

The Innovation category is judged by marketing thought-leader Steve Massey, strategic marketing expert Mac Mabidilala as well as tourism professional and co-founder of the Oranjezicht City Farm Sheryl Ozinsky; while Service Excellence sees tourism and hospitality expert Horst Frehse, conferencing specialist Gwynneth Matthews, and wine industry marketing and communications consultant André Morgenthal as judges. founder and owner Judy Brower, hospitality entrepreneur Janet Pillai, and wine marketing fundi Su Birch serve as judges in The Authentic South African Experience category.  

There will be a maximum of three honourees in each category, and each of them will get the opportunity to include the Wine & Food Tourism Awards 2019 logo on all their marketing material for the following year. Individuals or teams who have been named as honourees for three years in a row will receive membership to the elite Wine & Food Tourism Honourees Club. Thereafter they will not be eligible to be nominated for the same award again.

Participants may nominate as many wine and/or food establishments as they wish, in any or all of the categories. A separate form needs to be submitted for each nomination. An administration fee of R600 is applicable to each nomination. 

Nominations could be submitted via the website,  The closing date for participants to submit their nominations is 10 June 2019. 

The honourees per category of the Wine & Food Tourism Awards 2019 will be announced at the Wine & Food Tourism Conference 2019, taking place on 18 September 2019 at Spier near Stellenbosch.  This is the fourth time this annual conference is being presented.

The 2019 event, themed The Future of Wine & Food Tourism, will as per previous years provide an invaluable platform for participants to network and keep abreast of what is hot and happening in South African wine and food tourism. Go to to view the programme and line-up of speakers. 

Save 51% by registering before 30 June (early bird registration)!

Go to for more information, to register for the conference, and to submit awards nominations.  

Social media:
Twitter and Facebook: @winefoodconf
Instagram: @winefoodtourismconf
Hashtag: #wfconf2019


JP Rossouw
JP Rossouw

more news