Rosé Rocks’ 2017 rosé wine competition results announced

Tuesday, 22 August, 2017
Rosé Rocks
The annual ‘Rosé Rocks’ wine competition, South Africa’s only dedicated rosé wine competition, announced the results of this year’s judging, which was held in August, Cape Town.

A total of 15 double gold medals, and 20 gold medals were awarded. 161 still and sparkling wines entered.

Commenting on the results Allan Mullins, the panel chair, said "The standard of this year's entries have exceeded all expectations. I can confidently say that the quality of rosé wine being produced in South Africa is on par with the best that Spain and France produces.”

“My hearty congratulations to the winners and to all the producers and wine makers who entered. We look forward to the further healthy growth and development of this wine category in South Africa” he added.

Eamon McLoughlin, of Spill Brand Communications, a marketing consultancy and the competition organizers, commented “The rise and rise of quality rosé wine in South Africa continues unabated. Similar to international trends, it’s driven mainly by millennials.” 

“Our analytics show that young women between 18 and 30 are expressing the most interest and are behind the drive in sales.”

The international trend in rosé wine sales, doubling in the UK and up 55% in the US this year, are mirrored in the South African market, where sales have increased in double digit percentages in the past 3 years.

'Rosé Rocks!' is South Africa’s first dedicated rosé wine competition and seeks to recognise excellence in rosé winemaking and promote the SA Rosé category. 2017 was the third year of the competition.

The judging was conducted by a panel of 6 judges headed up by Allan Mullins and included Marthelize Tredoux, Malu Lambert, Joseph Dhafana, Tatiana Marcetteau and Praisy Dlamini.

The full list of double gold and gold medal winners is as follows:


Rosé Wine Double Gold Medal Winners
Backsberg Pinotage Rosé 2017
La Couronne Merlot Rosé 2017
Lace Dry Rosé by Almenkerk 2017
Le Pommier Rosé 2017
Lutzville Shiraz Rosé 2017
Quando Mourvedre 2017
Steenberg Ruby Rosé 2017
Villa Esposto Rosé 2016
Zevenwacht 7even Rosé 2017

Rosé Wine Gold Medal Winners
Allesverloren Tinta Rosé 2017
Babylonstoren Mourvedre Rosé 2017
Bellingham Strawberry Rosé 2017
Croydon Title Deed Rosé 2017
De Krans Pinotage Rosé 2017
Delaire Graff Cabernet Franc Rosé 2016
Diemersfontein Rosé 2016
Foothills Vineyards Dry Rosé 2016
Goats do Roam Rosé 2017
KC Cabernet Franc Rosé 2016
Ken Forrester Petit Rosé 2017
Mulderbosch Cabernet Sauvignon Rosé 2017
Piekenierskloof Grenache Rosé 2016
Laibach Ladybird Organic Rosé 2017
Topiary Rosé 2016
Vrede en Lust Jess Dry Rosé 2017

MCC Double Gold Medal Winners
Aetheria Rosé NV (African Pride)
Graham Beck Brut Rosé 2012
Le Lude Rosé NV
Lord's Brut Rosé NV
Silverthorn The Genie Rosé Brut NV
Villiera Tradition Brut Rosé NV

MCC Gold Medal Winners
Allée Bleue Brut Rosé 2014
Domaine des Dieux Rose of Sharon Brut Rosé 2010
Kleine Zalze Brut Rosé NV
Wildekrans Brut Rosé 2013


Winners of 2017 Rosé Rocks
Winners of 2017 Rosé Rocks

more news