Boschkloof triumphs at Michelangelo

Tuesday, 19 November, 2013
WineLand Magazine
The Stellenbosch father and son duo, Jacques and Reenen Borman,continued their recent award winning streak, when the Boschkloof Syrah2010 took the honours as the best wine at the show at the RotolabelInternational Michelangelo Awards. A total of 490 medals were awarded,along with 14 trophies, of which two were introduced this year.
Besides taking top honours with the trophy, Boschkloof was awarded a Gran d’Or medal for the Syrah 2010 and gold medals for the Boschkloof Syrah and Boschkloof Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot blend, both from the 2011 vintage.

Winemaker Reenen Borman explained that they were particularly pleased with the Cabernet Sauvignon-Merlot’s achievement, since this is their entry level red – clearly suggesting great value for money. He adds that their recent success in competitions –which also includes two wines in the Top 12 Shiraz competition– has certainly had a positive impact on wine sales.

Michelangelo this year attracted 1 415 entries, clearly bearing testimony to the potential of those shiny awards in the boosting of wine sales. And the silverware up for grabs at this competition has expanded significantly over the years. This year’s additions were trophies for the best coffee-styled Pinotage – a move that apparently annoyed the Pino purists – and best Méthode Cap Classique, as well as a platinum tier, which is even a step above the extravagantly named Gran d’Or medals.

The competition rules that no bling-lacking bronze medals are awarded and that only the top third of the entries may be awarded medals. This year 34.84% of the total entries – including the platinum winners – were awarded medals, clearly pushing the boundaries of the interpretation of one third. A total of 58 (4.10%)made the Gran d’ Or cut, with 197 (13.92%) gold and 253(16.61%) silver medals being awarded.

This, however, compares to the 68 (3.7%) double gold, 166(9.2%) gold, 526  (29.3%) silver and 682 (38%) bronze medals awarded at this year’s Veritas awards, where no trophies are awarded.

The non-South African or international entries – received from Chile, New Zealand and Italy – are at this stage low, but growing. The competition should, however, be commended for – over its 17 year tenure – exposing more than 160 international judges to South African wine. The 2013 competition saw 16 judges from 15 countries evaluate the different wine and brandy classes.

From an industry perspective, a feedback session with these judges – who vary from Cape Wine Masters who emigrated, to wine bloggers – would be beneficial to pose specific questions about their comments and results. Not only will this provide the industry insights into particular market preferences, but it could also add to the credibility of the competition as a whole.

Feedback provided by technical director, Sue van Wyk CWM, suggests that the judges were particularly impressed by the Pinotage and Chenin Blanc categories – both regarded as unique South African specialities. Pinotage performed particularly well, with an impressive ten Gran d’Or medal winners among the 107 entries.

Sauvignon Blanc was also a stand-out category, with seven Gran d’Or and 20 gold medals awarded from a record 173 entries. Another big category, Shiraz, yielded eight Gran d’Or and 21 gold medals from 161 entries.

Kleine Zalze’s Vineyard Selection Chardonnay 2012, Saronsberg’s Full Circle 2011 and Grundheim’s Rosyntjiewyn 2011 received the maiden platinum medals, which were awarded to wines that scored higher than 98 points on a 100 point scale.

– Edo Heyns

The trophy winners:
-Rotolabel Grand Prix Trophy – Boschkloof Wines Syrah 2010
-RX South Africa Organic Trophy – Laibach Vineyards Woolworths White Ladybird Chardonnay
-Garagiste Trophy – Topaz Wine Company Shiraz/Mourvédre 2012
-Sue van Wyk Pinotage Trophy – Wildekrans Wine Estate Barrel Select Reserve Pinotage 2011
-Grotto Trophy Top Producer Trophy – Perdeberg Winery
-Golden Oldie Trophy – Welbedacht Wine Estate Chenin Blanc 2005
-Brandy Trophy – Distell Pty Van Ryn’s Fine Cask Reserve 15 Year Old
-AfriRack Best Dessert Wine Trophy – Grundheim Wines Rosyntjiewyn 2011
-Best International Entry – Villa Maria Estate Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawks Bay Syrah 2009
-Best Fairtrade Red Wine Trophy – Stellenrust Estate Cabernet Franc 2010
-Best Fairtrade White Wine Trophy – Koopmanskloof Wingerde Chardonnay 2013
-Tonnellerie de Mercurey Best Bordeaux Style Red Blend Trophy – Grande Provence 2009
-Toneleria Naçional Coffee Pinotage Trophy – Boland Cellar Cappupino Ccinotage 2012
-African Cellars Suppliers MCC Trophy – Domaine des DieuxRose of Sharon 2008

Gran d’Or medal winners:
Anura Pinotage Reserve 2011
Bergsig Icarus 2010
Beyerskloof Diesel Pinotage 2011
Cappupino Pinotage 2012
Boplaas Cape Tawny Vintners Reserve NV
Boplaas GAMKA 2012
Boschkloof Syrah 2010
Odd Bins Bin 242 Sauvignon Blanc 2013
Odd Bins Bin 239 Sauvignon Blanc 2013
Clos Malverne Pinotage Reserve 2011
Conradie Family Vineyards Pinotage 2012
De Grendel Shiraz 2011
Danie de Wet Nature in Concert Pinot Noir 2009
Diemersdal Chardonnay Unwooded 2013
Rosé of Sharon MCC 2008
Rhinofields Sauvignon Blanc 2013
Rhinofields NLH 2012
Excelsior Viognier 2013
Flagstone Music Room 2010
Fort Simon Shiraz 2009
Goudini Unwooded Chardonnay 2013
Grande Provence Red Blend 2009
Grand Constance 2010
Hidden Valley Shiraz/Tannat 2011
Journey’s End Shiraz 2007
Klein Doolhof Chenin Blanc 2012
Vineyard Selection Shiraz Mourvédre Viognier 2011
Koelfontein Chardonnay 2011
Chardonnay 2013
La Petite Ferme Merlot 2012
L’Avenir Grand Vin Pinotage 2010
Lazanou Viognier 2013
Linton Park Chardonnay 2013
Lutzville Francois le Vaillant NLH 2012
Diamond Collection Chenin Blanc 2012
Maastricht Pinot Noir 2012
Marianne Merlot 2009
Nitida Calligraphy 2011
Bloem Syrah, Mourvédre 2012
Ondine Cabernet Franc 2009
The Dry Land Collection Pinotage 2011
Pulpit Rock Pinotage Reserve 2012
Paulina’s Reserve Sauvignon Blanc 2012
Rijk’s Private Cellar Chenin Blanc 2009
Retreat Sauvignon Blanc 2010
Rosendal Barony August Cabernet Sauvignon 2011
Rustenberg Stellenbosch Buzzard Kloof Syrah 2010
Star Hill Sauvignon Blanc 2012
Topaz Shiraz/Mourvédre 2012
VDC Chardonnay 2012
Van Ryn Fine Cask Reserve 15 Year Old Brandy
Villa Maria Reserve Gimblett Gravels Hawkes Bay Syrah 2009
Vintners Drift Shiraz 2011
Welbedacht Wine Estate Cricket Patch 2008
Wellington Wines La Cave Shiraz 2010
Pinotage Barrel Select Reserve 2011
Windmeul Chenin Blanc Reserve 2012
La Bonne Vigne Sauvignon Blanc 2013.

Trudie Webb

Trudie joined in 2016. She comes from an academic background and took on the Content Editing role with such aplomb that she was appointed to the Wine News Editor & Social Media Management role. She has a weak spot for good Pinot Noir and Chardonnay, is a sucker for a pretty label and  has a love for the interesting stories behind the wines and the people who make them.