KWV wins Best Producer accolade for the third year running.

Monday, 7 October, 2013
KWV has won the Best Producer status for an unprecedented third year in a row at Veritas.
The awards were announced at a glittering ceremony attended by the who’s who of the wine industry at the CTICC in Cape Town on October 5th.

The medal haul included 4 prestigious double gold and 15 gold medals, amounting to a grand total of 44 medals for the Paarl Producer.

Only 68 double gold medals, amounting to 3.7% of the entries, were awarded to 1,442 winning entries. A total of 1,792 wines and brandies were entered this year.

KWV won double gold medals for The Mentors Orchestra 2010, The Mentors Pinotage 2011, Laborie Blanc de Blancs MCC 2009 and the KWV Classic Collection Cape Tawny N/V.

Commenting on the win Johann Fourie, Chief Winemaker at KWV, said; “To win best producer status three years in a row is a definitive demonstration of the consistency of styles and focus across a broad range of our wines. KWV is now delivering, year after year, levels of finesse, elegance and concentration that consumers in South Africa, and internationally, want”

“KWV’s success”, he adds, “is down to the hard work and attention to detail of the entire team, from the grape growers and viticulturalists right through to the winemakers”.

Veritas is the most respected competition in South Africa for market ready wines and brandies. The country’s best producers are honoured annually with double gold, gold, silver and bronze medals.

A panel of international judges from the UK, The Netherlands, Germany, Sweden and France joined local experts to judge Veritas this year, lending weight and authority to the rigorous judging process.

To celebrate and share their worldwide success, KWV Wines are giving away 6 cases of their award winning wines to their Facebook fans and Twitter followers.
The competition launches on 8 October on KWV's Facebook and Twitter pages. To stand a chance to win, follow them on @kwvwines – and use the hashtag #WINwithKWVWines or go to and follow the instructions.

The gold medal winners are as follows;

KWV Abraham Perold Insignis Shiraz 2011
KWV Abraham Perold Tributum 2010
KWV Cathedral Cellar Chardonnay 2012
KWV Classic Collection Cape Medium Cream Dessert Wine N/V
KWV Hanepoot Jerepigo 1969
KWV Superior Bin B14 Late Bottled Vintage Red Muscatel 1930
KWV The Mentors Cabernet Franc 2010
KWV The Mentors Darling Sauvignon Blanc 2012
KWV The Mentors Orchestra 2011
KWV The Mentors Petit Verdot 2011
KWV The Mentors Semillon 2008
KWV The Mentors Shiraz 2011
KWV Wit Muskadel Jerepigo 1968
KWV Imoya Brandy
Laborie Alambic Brandy.