2013 Veritas: A night made of gold

Sunday, 6 October, 2013
It came as no surprise that, yet again, KWV and Nederburg swept the awards with the former winning 4 double golds and a grand total of 13 golds, and the latter also winning 4 double golds but coming in second with 9 gold medals.
The night showed a different selection of winners this year with many smaller wineries being awarded for their stellar wines.

The double-gold medal winners, by category, are listed below and in some cases, we have included last years results as a comparison:

White Blends
Le Geminus Sauvignon Blanc/Sémillon 2010

Boschendal 2013
De Wetshof Estate Bon Vallon 2013
Delaire Graff 2012
Môreson Mercator Premium 2012
Rustenberg Five Soldiers 2011
Winters Drift 2012
(Last year, Jordan had two DG Chardonnays in this category)

Chenin Blanc
Windmeul Kelder 2013
Credo Quattuor 2010
Perdeberg Winery The Dry Land Collection 2011
Woolworths Spier Private Collection 2011

Three Rivers André’s Fame 2013

Sauvignon Blanc
Brampton 2013
Cool Bay Reserve 2013
De Grendel Koetshuis 2013
Flagstone Free Run Elim Reserve 2011
Graham Beck Pheasants’ Run 2013
Graham Beck Pheasants’ Run 2012
Hidden Valley 2013
Rivendell 2012
(None of last year's winners are in this cat.)

Noble Late Harvest
Nederburg Private Bin Eminence 2011
Nederburg Winemaster’s Reserve NLH 2012
Nederburg Winemaster’s Reserve NLH 2011

Straw Wine
Rustenberg 2011

Méthode Cap Classique
Laborie Blanc de Blancs MCC 2009
(The big MCC brands of Graham Beck and Pongracz, were last years winners)

Red Blends

Babylon’s Peak Shiraz/Mourvédre/Grenache 2009
Beyerskloof Faith 2010
Hillcrest Estate Hornfels 2009
KWV The Mentors Orchestra  2010
Simonsig Frans Malan Cape Blend 2010
Spier Creative Block 3 2011
The High Road Director’s Reserve 2010
Tokara Directors Reserve 2009

Cabernet Sauvignon

Cederberg Five Generations 2011
Eikendal 2010
Ernie Els Proprietor’s 2011
Mt Vernon Deborah’s Selection 2010
Landskroon Paul de Villiers 2011
Nederburg Private Bin R163 2009
Neil Ellis Vineyard Selection 2010
Rust en Vrede 2010

De Grendel 2010
Eagles’ Nest 2009
Elgin Vintners 2009


Kanonkop 2010
Kanonkop 2007
KWV The Mentors 2011
Simonsig Pinotage Redhill 2010
Windmeul Reserve 2012

De Grendel 2011
Eagles’ Nest 2010
Flagstone Dark Horse 2010
Saronsberg 2011
Tokara Reserve Collection Syrah 2010

Fortified Wines
Boplaas Cape Tawny Vintner’s Reserve N/V
Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve 2010
Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve 2009
Delaire Graff Cape Vintage 2011
KWV Classic Collection Cape Tawny N/V
Montagu Cellar Red Muscadel2012
Nuy Wit Muskadel 2006