Cape Port & wines shine at the CAPPA Challenge 2013

Thursday, 6 June, 2013
Cape Port Producers Assosiation
The Cape Port Producers’ Association (CAPPA) recently held the 2nd CAPPA Challenge 2013 for Cape Port & Portuguese varietal table wines and blends with a minimum 30% Portuguese varietal component.
Traditionally, the Cape has been an enclave for the crafting of Port wines from traditional Portuguese varietals according to the recognized styles as well as table wines from Portuguese varietals – most notably from Tinta Barocca.  Although this category of wines constitutes a small percentage of the South African industry, this category is amongst the country’s most awarded wines and of world class quality. 

An experienced panel of tasters, chaired by Dave Hughes, lauded the quality of the table wines & especially the Cape “Ports” which were comfortably of world class quality.  The panel were impressed by the overall strength of the table wines & their exemplary value for the consumer.

As with previous years the Cape Vintage & Cape Tawny categories were the stand-out performers, with the Boplaas Cape Tawny Vintner’s Reserve N/V the overall trophy winner and the Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2010 the reserve champion.

For the first time in 5 years a Cape Ruby was awarded a gold medal, with the Groot Constantia Cape Ruby 2011 getting gold and so doing taking the Cape Ruby category; while the Slanghoek Cape Ruby came in as runner-up.  The “other Cape Port” category - for Cape White, Cape Pink & Late Bottled Vintage (LBV) style wines - also delivered a class winner with the outstanding Peter Bayly Cape LBV 2008.

The strength of the Cape Vintage category was proved by the 5 gold medals awarded in this class, with the Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2010 taking top honours and the Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2009 runner-up.  The three other gold medals were awarded to the TTT Cellars Cape Vintage 2010, Landskroon Cape Vintage 2010 and the Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2008.

Two gold medals were awarded in the Cape Tawny category to the trophy winning Boplaas Cape Tawny Vintners Reserve N/V and the Boplaas Cape Tawny 1995 a deserved runner-up. 

While in the Museum Class – for Cape Port 10 years and older – the judges were very impressed by the quality and “youthfulness” of the wines and four gold medals were achieved in this category.  The winner was the Boplaas Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2003; while the other gold medals went to the De Krans Cape Vintage Reserve Port 2002, De Krans Cape Vintage Port 2003 & the Boplaas Cape Tawny 1994. 

For the second year running Portuguese varietal table wines & blends containing a minimum 30% of a Portuguese varietal were adjudicated by the panel & a CAPPA Top 10 was chosen.  This year top honours went to the Axe hill Machado 2012 a blend of Touriga Nacional and Shiraz from this boutique producer in Calitzdorp.  The rest of the Top 10 wines were as follows:
·   Malagas Sijnn Touriga Nacional 2011;
·  De Krans Red Stone Reserve 2006;
·  Peter Bayly III 2011;
·  Boplaas Ring of Rocks 2011;
·  Malaga Sijnn 2010;
·  De Krans Touriga Nacional 2010;
·  Boplaas Touirga Nacional 2009; &
·  Boplaas Tinta Chocolat 2012;
·  Boplaas Portuguese Connection Woolworths 2010

This year’s CAPPA Port & Wine Challenge 2013 panel were:
·  Dave Hughes – chairman -(Honorary Cape Wine Master);
·  Christine Rudman (Cape Wine Master);
·  Colin Firth (Honorary Cape Wine Master);
·  Meryl Weaver (Cape Wine Master); &
·  Raymond Noppe (Cape Wine Master).
This year’s CAPPA Port & Wine Challenge 2013 blind tasting was officiated and audited by Elsabé Ferreira and her El pro team.

For more information regarding CAPPA, Cape Ports & styles, CAPPA members and news visit the new website or find us on Facebook at Cape Port Producers’ Association