Stark-Condé Cabernet wins Trophy for unprecedented third time at the Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show 2012

Tuesday, 4 June, 2013
Mount Nelson Hotel, Cape Town, SA – On Thursday, 30th May 2013 Stark-Condé was announced as the winner of the Fairbairn Capital Trophy for the “Most Successful Producer Overall” at this year’s prestigious Old Mutual Trophy Wine Show.
Stark-Condé secured the Trophy by winning the sought-after American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon and the Trophy for Best Shiraz, as well as 3 Silver Medals and 3 Bronze Medals.

José Conde remains the only winemaker to have won the American Express Trophy for Best Cabernet Sauvignon more than once – this year his Stark-Condé Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon 2010 became the third wine from Stark-Condé Wines to win this Trophy. Previous winners were the Stark-Condé Stellenbosch Cabernet Sauvignon 2007 and the Condé Cabernet Sauvignon 2000.

The flagship, single-vineyard Stark-Condé Three Pines Jonkershoek Syrah 2010 was awarded the Best Shiraz Trophy. Only 2592 bottles were produced from this tiny 23-year-old vineyard. José describes the Three Pines Syrah as “an elegant, refined style. Exotic spice, violet and aniseed aromas followed by a mouthfeel similar to the texture of crushed violets.”

According to Michael Fridjhon, it is in the silver medal count that the tougher standards are revealed – this year only 77 silver medals were awarded compared to last year’s 178 and Stark-Condé managed to claim three. José’s first estate white blend, Stark-Condé The Field Blend 2012 (Roussanne, Chenin Blanc, Viognier, Verdelho), Stark-Condé Stellenbosch Syrah 2010 and Lingen Red Blend 2010 all received silver medals.

Three Bronze medals were secured by the Pepin Condé Rowey Vineyards Pinot Noir 2012, Pepin Condé Stellenbosch Chenin Blanc 2012 and Stark-Condé Three Pines Jonkershoek Cabernet Sauvignon 2010.


Maia Vosloo: / for orders and enquiries.

Visit our website for our full range and to access our order form.