Decanter 2013 - Regional Trophy and more

Wednesday, 22 May, 2013
Cederberg Wines
David Nieuwoudt Ghost Corner Sauvignon Blanc 2012 has won the Decanter World Wine Award Regional Trophy - South African Sauvignon Blanc above fifteen pounds.
In the past the following wines from Cederberg also won regional trophies at the Decanter Wine Awards:

- Cederberg Sauvignon Blanc 2008
- Waitrose Sustainable Chenin Blanc 2007
- Five Generation Cabernet Sauvignon 2004
- Five Generations Cabernet Sauvignon 2006
- Cederberg Shiraz 2006

This year we have a new player in the Regional Trophy category: the Ghost Corner Sauvignon Blanc 2012, which will be released this month in SA.

Only winners in the Regional Trophy category automatically move on to the next round in September every year – the International Trophy. In 2008 Cederberg won the Decanter International Trophy for Best Rhône varietal red above ten pounds with the Cederberg Shiraz 2006.

Yesterday Cederberg was also awarded one silver and five bronze medals at this annual event. Go to to see who the other 13 South African winners of regional trophies are. In total, 14 362 wines were entered from 52 countries.