Cape Wine Masters honour Top SA Viticulturist

Institute of Cape Wine Masters (ICWM) awarded its “Wine Personality of the Year” award on Saturday 4 May to world renowned viticulturist Prof Eben Archer.  
The Chairman of ICWM, Andy Roediger, says that Prof Eben Archer has contributed widely to the education of many viticulturists, wine makers and wine farmers in South Africa to produce better grapes and make better wine.  Prof Archer has been praised for his work as a researcher, academic, mentor and consultant. He has a PhD from the University of Montpellier, France, did pioneering research for many years at Nietvoorbij outside Stellenbosch and taught at the University of Stellenbosch.  Although retired, he still consults for more than 20 wine farms.

At the AGM of the Institute of Cape Wine Masters three bursaries were awarded to Cape Wine Master students – Mike Buthelezi (Gauteng), Nkululeku Mkhwanazi (KZN) and Tawanda Marume (Western Cape). There are 29 students following the Cape Wine Master programme at present.

The Cape Wine Academy and the ICWM announced that no Cape Wine Master graduates qualified this year and it is only the fourth year in the history that no diplomas were awarded. The other years without graduates were 1999, 2002 and 2003.

Next year sees the 30th anniversary of Cape Wine Masters since the first three candidates qualified in 1984. They were Duimpie Bayly, Bennie Howard and the late Tony Mossop. A total of 82 Cape Wine Masters have qualified since 1984.


Andy Roediger, Chairman, Institute of Cape Wine Masters, Prof Eben Archer and Duimpie Bayly, one of