Consumers rate Franschhoek as the 'most memorable wine route'

Tuesday, 25 December, 2012
Smart Communications
The Franschhoek Wine Valley, regarded as one of South Africa’s leading wine producing regions and gourmet capital, walked away with the title of The ‘Happy Times’ Award for Most Memorable Wine Route, at this year’s inaugural #KLINK Awards.
The competition was the brainchild of Wine Tourism South Africa publisher, Monika Elias, whereby she (via the publication) invited foodies, wine lovers, outdoor adventurers and wine farm visitors to show their love and appreciation for South Africa’s Winelands by voting for their favourite nominees in South Africa’s first ever, consumer-driven, interactive wine tourism awards.

Earlier this year Franschhoek was awarded the title of Best Local Tourism Authority Information Service (LTA) of the Year, at the annual Cape Winelands District Municipality Mayoral Tourism Awards.
This latest award reaffirms Franschhoek’s position as one of the country’s popular (and most memorable) regions to visit. Visitors to the area are spoilt for choice with experiences ranging from lifestyle festivals, award-winning wine farms, gourmet dining as well as world-class shops and boutiques for an intimate and relaxed shopping experience. For those wanting to make the most of their visit accommodation in Franschhoek ranges from the finest bed and breakfasts to luxurious boutique hotels, all nestling in a picturesque and secure environment.

Other Franschhoek Wine Valley members sharing the spotlight at the awards ceremony were:
• Beyond Expectations: Award for Great Food and Excellent Value – Haute Cabriere
• Gourmet: Award for Best Gourmet Restaurant at the Cellar Door - Pierneef à La Motte
• Wild Card: Award for Most Unusual Attraction on a Wine Route – Museum Van de Caab at Solms-Delta

‘Receiving the endorsement by consumers as the Most Memorable Wine Route is such an honour and I’d like to thank everyone who voted for us as well as their continued support,’ says Franschhoek Wine Valley CEO Jenny Prinsloo.